2011 Report on Expense Reviews - Cabinet Ministers and Opposition Leaders

June 1, 2011

The Office of the Integrity Commissioner today filed its annual report of the expenses reviews conducted under the Cabinet Ministers’ and Opposition Leaders’ Expenses Review and Accountability Act, 2002. The report covers work conducted from April 1, 2010 to March 31, 2011.

“I am happy to say that all of our reviews were completed in a timely and efficient fashion,” said Integrity Commissioner Lynn Morrison. “There were no delays or backlogs in our work, and all of the reviews were promptly returned. I am grateful for the cooperation we have received.”

Under the Act, the Integrity Commissioner is required to review and approve expenses claimed by Cabinet Ministers, parliamentary assistants, opposition leaders, and their staff. The Commissioner may direct repayment or recommend other remedial action. The Act covers only those expenses incurred for travel, hotels, meals and hospitality.

The Office reviewed 1,251 claims submitted on behalf of approximately 500 people. All requests for reimbursements were complied with, and all expense claims reviewed were subsequently approved.

Since 2010, the Commissioner has taken steps to apply the meal rates permitted for all public servants to people affected by this Act. The Office has been proactive in educating expense claimants, meeting with them through the year to help develop best practices for compliance with the rules and processes.

About the OIC

The Office of the Integrity Commissioner has five key responsibilities:
- Lobbyists registration
- Members’ integrity
- Public service disclosure of wrongdoing (whistle-blowing)
- Expenses review for Cabinet Ministers, Opposition Leaders, and 22 of Ontario’s largest agencies
- Ministers’ staff ethical conduct

An Officer of the Legislative Assembly, the Integrity Commissioner is independent of government.

More information on the OIC and its work is available at
Ce communiqué est également disponible en français.

Cathryn Motherwell
Director, Office of the Integrity Commissioner